Connect with us

Phoenix Sports News

01’ World Series Teammates Debut Diamondbacks Hall of Fame

© Joe Rondone/The Republic / USA TODAY NETWORK

Over the past weekend on the night of the Arizona Diamondbacks 25th anniversary, the club named two of its best players hall of famers. 

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Randy Johnson and Luis Gonzalez were the first two players to be inducted into the Diamondbacks Hall of Fame. The pair brought Arizona it’s singular championship in 2001. 

Johnson pitched for the Diamondbacks in 1999-2004, then came back to Arizona in the 2007 & 2008 seasons. As a Diamondback Johnson had multiple memorable moments. From annihilating a bird, to coming out of the bullpen in game seven to help bring Arizona a championship. 

The Big Unit is no doubt one of the greatest pitchers to ever throw a baseball. Amassing 303 career wins with a 3.29 ERA when deciding to hang it up after 22 seasons in the bigs. 

His counterpart, Luis Gonzalez, was no slouch either. Gonzalez was a Diamondback from 1999-2006. In his 19 year career he totaled 2,591 hits and a career .283/.367/.479 hitting slash. Gonzalez’ most memorable moment in Arizona was walking off that same game seven in 2001 with a single off of Mariano Rivera to win the World Series. 

Johnson and Gonzalez seemed to be very fitting as the first hall of famers in Arizona, they are two of three players with retired jerseys. The third, Jackie Robinson.

Diamondbacks Lose the Lead Late in Colorado

Fan’s React to Diamondbacks First Series Win in Over a Month

Get the BEST Phoenix sports insider information and exclusive content SIGN UP HERE to unlock our premium content!*

Devan Blankenship is a sports and general assignment reporter for Burn City Sports. You can follow him on X via @DevanB2456 for premium Arizona Diamondbacks content.


More in Phoenix Sports News