Connect with us

Arizona Diamondbacks

Zac Gallen now favorite to win Cy Young

Spread the love

Although it is still fairly early in the season, Diamondbacks’ Zac Gallen has moved to #1 in the Cy Young rankings via MLB experts.

The last time the Diamondbacks had a Cy Young pitcher was in 2006 with Brandon Webb. Before that, it was Randy Johnson who won four in a row starting in 1999. This impressive streak is tied with Greg Maddux for the longest in MLB history.

Considering the Diamondbacks relative short history in the league, five Cy Youngs in just 25 years means they have crowned the award in 20% of seasons since joining the MLB. This leads all teams by far.

Now, Zac Gallen has a chance to bring the award back to Arizona, as he has picked up right where he left off in 2022. 

So far this season, Gallen leads the National League with six wins. he has posted a 2.356 ERA in these nine outings. Additionally, the 27-year-old leads the NL with a .855 WHIP.

Out of the 49 voters who participated in the rankings, 32 handed their first-place vote to Zac Gallen. This was a big jump up from Spencer Strider in second place, who received only 13 first place votes.

Can Zac Gallen continue to dominate in 2023 and bring home the Cy Young Award?

Access Burn+ Premium Content & Behind the Scenes Network

Subscribe Today!

More in Arizona Diamondbacks

Loading More Posts...