Connect with us

Arizona Cardinals

Reliving Kyler Murray winning the Heisman Trophy 5 years later

© Mickey Welsh
Spread the love

Five years ago today, former University of Oklahoma and current Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray won the prestigious Heisman Trophy on Dec. 8, 2018, being voted the best player in college football.

Murray transferred to the Sooners on Dec. 24, 2015 after spending one year at Texas A&M University.

As a redshirt junior for the Sooners, Murray completed 241-of-340 passes with 4053 yards thrown and 40 touchdowns.

While rushing, Murray lived up to being called a “dual-threat quarterback” as he gained a further 11 touchdowns and 892 yards.

Overall, the Cardinals star amassed 4945 total yards and 51 touchdowns in college to lead the whole nation that year.

Additionally, he guided Oklahoma to becoming the 2018 Big 12 Conference champions and also establishing a 12-1 record.

Unfortunately for Murray, the Sooners and him eventually fell to the University of Alabama 45-34 in the Orange Bowl on Dec. 29, 2018 at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami, Florida.

Murray narrowly beat Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa by less than 300 votes, and became the seventh Oklahoma player to win the title in their history.

Top-10 Heisman Votes (2018)

  1. Oklahoma QB Kyler Murray (Arizona Cardinals) – 2167
  2. Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa (Miami Dolphins) – 1871
  3. Ohio State QB Dwayne Haskins – 783
  4. West Virginia QB Will Grier (New England Patriots): 126
  5. Washington State QB Gardner Minshew (Indianapolis Colts) – 122
  6. University of Central Florida QB McKenzie Milton – 39
  7. Clemson RB Travis Etienne (Jacksonville Jaguars) – 29
  8. Alabama DL Quinnen Williams (New York Jets) – 27
  9. Wisconsin RB Jonathan Taylor (Indianapolis Colts) – 26
  10. Memphis RB Darrell Henderson Jr. (Los Angeles Rams) – 21

Furthermore, Oklahoma revealed a statue of Murray earlier this year to commemorate his major accomplishment on Apr. 22.

A statue of Kyler Murray is unveiled before a spring scrimmage game at Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium in Norman Okla., on Saturday, April 22, 2023. Ou Spring. © NATHAN J. FISH/THE OKLAHOMAN / USA TODAY NETWORK

Following that season, Murray announced he would forgo his final year of college eligibility with the Sooners as he entered the 2019 NFL Draft.

Then, the Cardinals chose Murray as the No. 1 pick since they were in need of major reinforcements in the quarterback position at the time.

As a result, the rest is history.

How are the Arizona Cardinals following a bye week?

*Get the BEST Phoenix sports insider information, exclusive content, and access to our seasonal magazines! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our premium content!*

Alec Cipollini is a reporter of the Arizona Coyotes and Cardinals for Burn City Sports. You can follow him on his X account @AlecCipollini

More in Arizona Cardinals

Loading More Posts...